Important Announcement About the FLSA for Fire Departments Program

We have some important news to report regarding the scheduled FLSA for Fire Departments programs. Currently we have two programs that are scheduled, one in September, 2020 and the other in November, 2020.

For more information on the September 15-18, 2020 Program

For more information on the November 10-13, 2020 Program

EZ Schedule

The program will be delivered LIVE using Zoom Webinar. To accommodate time-zone issues, we will be delivering the webinar using what we call the EZ-Schedule. Each day the class will run for six (6) hours:

11:00am – 5:00pm Eastern

10:00am – 4:00pm Central

9:00am – 3:00pm Mountain

8:00am-2:00pm Pacific 

To ensure we cover the entire 24 hours of course material the webinar will run four (4) days. In addition, each evening we will hold an optional online Zoom meeting for attendees to address any questions that were not addressed during the webinar.

About Curt Varone

Curt Varone has over 40 years of fire service experience and 30 as a practicing attorney licensed in both Rhode Island and Maine. His background includes 29 years as a career firefighter in Providence (retiring as a Deputy Assistant Chief), as well as volunteer and paid on call experience. He is the author of two books: Legal Considerations for Fire and Emergency Services, (2006, 2nd ed. 2011, 3rd ed. 2014) and Fire Officer's Legal Handbook (2007), and is a contributing editor for Firehouse Magazine writing the Fire Law column.
x

Check Also

Coronavirus Shift Change and the FLSA

Today’s burning question: Our firefighters work a 24-48 schedule on a 28-day work period. In light of the coronavirus emergency, we have decided to implement a 7-day on, 14-day off schedule. We have a very light workload and do not anticipate exhaustion being an issue. Does the FLSA prohibit such a schedule? And if not, how would we implement it?

Fire Law Podcast 32: Legal Implications of Corona Virus COVID-19 and Quarantine

In this episode, Curt and Bill Maccarone discuss the legal implication of the Corona Virus COVID-19 quarantine on fire departments and firefighters. Quarantine raises questions associated with sick leave, work-time, overtime, and workers compensation and all are discussed in the podcast.